Chelsea can not afford Malmo mistake against top sides, says Sarri

With one minute left of normal time during the first-leg last-16 tie, the Madrid captain came sliding in on Kasper Dolberg to pick up a yellow card and earn a suspension for the second leg.

With this yellow card Ramos would miss the second leg of the the round of 16, but he would get "clean" to the quarterfinals if his team is classified as it thought at the time of committing the infringement.

Ramos admitted he had deliberately got booked when he commented in a post-game interview that "seeing the result, I'd be lying if I said I didn't provoke it, it's something I had in mind". "It's something I was thinking about, it's not to underestimate the opponent nor say the tie is over but in football you have to take hard decisions so I chose to do it". UEFA have opened an investigation into Ramos' conduct and he could be hit with a two-game ban. Madrid defender Dani Carvajal was suspended for two games last season after intentionally earning a booking in the group stages.

Around an hour later, Ramos appeared to backtrack on Twitter.

"I want to make it clear that this hurts me more than it would hurt anyone, I did not get the yellow card on goal, just like the last yellow card I got in the competition, and I will be supporting from the stands like any other fan hoping we get into the quarter-finals".

There is a big difference when you have already understood everything; it is much easier to play football.

All yellow cards and pending suspensions expire after the quarter-finals and can not be carried forward to the semis.

But first up there is the small matter of Malmo in the Europa League round of 32, and if Chelsea are to get the two-legged tie off to a good start on Thursday they will have to do something they have failed to so far in 2019: win away from home.

Tadic was deemed to be interfering with Real goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois, after the Belgian spilled a header following a corner-kick and Tagliafico nodded in the rebound.

Uefa is investigating comments he made suggesting he was booked deliberately.

However, a lengthy VAR review eventually ruled out the goal with Tadic, marginally offside, standing in front of the Real keeper as the ball looped in.