Confidential mode of Gmail now available on mobile devices, protects sensitive information

After being available to desktop users for weeks, Gmail's Confidential Mode is now rolling out to Android and iOS users. In that case, just open the Gmail app, and tap on the menu icon on the left, reaching Sent. This means that you don't even have to update your Gmail app to receive the feature, as it is being pushed from the server side by Google.

"You can use confidential mode to set an expiration date for messages or revoke access at any time". How many times have you dithered from sending critical information like bank account number or password to someone via Gmail? So, this confidential mode feature is particularly helpful to businesses but also quite useful to others.

While Gmail users will have no trouble opening the confidential message, non-Gmail customers will get an email passcode to authenticate from a secure web portal.

Back in the day when even color television sets seemed like a luxurious commodity, scientists and engineers were busy developing the technology that we call email today. Google added the feature recently in all Android applications.


This is really helpful when you are sharing sensitive information over email.

If you think you need to update the app for this new tool, then don't worry.

The sender of a confidential email can also require recipients to enter a passcode (sent via SMS or email) to open the message. If you've already turned on confidential mode for an email, go to the bottom of the email, then click Edit. Alongside brand-new features built on top of artificial intelligence and machine learning, Google also ushered in an entirely new look for the email client, repainting Gmail with a Material Design flair. That implies that Google now has another piece of personal information - an email associated with a telephone number. You will see an option to remove access, just tap on that, and the recipient will no longer be able to access the file. Once this is done, the user will see a message that says content expired. This can be helpful in protecting information, but make sure you don't lock anything that needs to be downloaded.


Popular

CONNECT